updated almost daily, homepage http://www.mopo.ca
MoPo | Geek News

Wednesday, March 11, 2009


The North American Currency Union is a theoretical economic and monetary union of the three largest countries of North America, namely Canada, the United States, and Mexico. Implementation would probably involve the three countries giving up their current currency units (U.S. dollar, Canadian dollar, and Mexican peso) and adopting a new one, created specifically for this purpose.

The hypothetical currency for the union is most often referred to as the amero.The concept is modeled on the common European Union currency (the euro), and it is argued to be a natural extension of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and the Security and Prosperity Partnership of North America.

Conspiracy theorists contend that the governments of the United States, Canada, and Mexico are already taking steps to implement such a currency, as part of a "North American Union (NAU)". No current members of any country's government have officially stated a desire to create such a body, nor has anyone introduced a common currency as part of this concept

Bookmark and Share

« Home | What To Do With 24 256GB Samsung SSDs? » | Ukraine, Pripyat. 2009 » | Bands Turning To iPhones For Music » | Chuck Norris » | eBay: 2 pre-release iPhones » | Video of Octomom, Nadya Suleman, Giving birth » | Scanwiches » | This day in history: The Telephone » | Robot Teachers At Last! » | Virtual President Obama »